Brief History of the Department of Veterinary Parasitology

The Department was established in 1968 by the ABU/RUU/DITA agreement. The cooperation was terminated on 15th October, 1975. The pioneer Head of Department, Professor Paul Leeflang continued to head till June 1976 when the first Nigerian Head of Department, Professor AdamuNayaya Mohammed, was appointed.The Department has three major sections each with a sectional head:Helminthology section; Protozoology section and Entomology section. The Department has continued to maintain and consolidate its achievements since 1968 and has been recognized for its contribution to the control of livestock parasitic diseases by the Federal and State Governments. Its expertise has been drawn upon by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO), World Health Organization (WHO), Organization of African Unity’s Scientific and Technical Research Committee (OAUSTRC) and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).The Department was involved in international collaborative project on ticks and tick-borne diseases in Nigeria with the State University of Utrecht which was financed by the European Economic Community’s (EEC). Another collaborative project on control of tsetse and trypanosomiasis in Nigeria was undertaken from 1988 – 1995 which was also funded by EEC.Also the department has grown to become a reference centre for diagnosis of tick-borne diseases.The Department can now provide vaccines for the control of diseases like heartwater (Cowdriosis) to Governments and Private farms. The department has graduated over 25 Ph.D and over 40 M.Sc candidates since its inception. The higher degree candidates were from Nigeria and other African countries such as Kenya, Serria Leone, Cameroun and Ethiopia